Awards for Excellence 2019 shortlisted entries

Congratulations to all those who won, or were commended, in this year's NCTJ Awards for Excellence, sponsored by The Independent.

Click the categories below to find out the results, and view all the shortlisted submissions.

Gianni Marini and Greg Ockrim, Glasgow Caledonian University – Winners
Ep. 1 – North Lanarkshire and Council Budgets

Olivia Lee, NCTJ distance learning – Highly Commended
Secret Japan
Links to online articles, online hub and social media coverage

Paula Ugochukwu, University of Sheffield – Commended
We are Igbo

Meg Winton, Bournemouth University – Commended
Hot and bothered: The reality of an early menopause
Links to online, tv, blog and radio

Winners of other awards were as follows:

Innovation of the year award - Ulster University

Equality, diversity and inclusion award, sponsored by the Financial Times - The 50:50 Project, BBC

Apprentice of the year, sponsored by Mark Allen Group - Yohannes Lowe, The Telegraph

Student of the year, sponsored by Sunderland City Council - Jessica Murray, The University of Sheffield

Trainee of the year, sponsored by the Society of Editors - Rhoda Morrison, Bury Free Press