Awards for Excellence 2022 shortlist

Judges have shortlisted 59 students, trainees, apprentices and training providers in the 2022 Awards for Excellence.

Some 444 entries were received across the 17 categories for the annual awards, which highlight the achievements of individuals with promising journalism careers ahead of them, and those doing outstanding work in the media and training sector.

Shortlisted in the student and trainee categories are:

Student Trainee
News journalism Miriam Kuepper, University of Sheffield
Sabrina Miller, PA Training
Olivia Snelson, University of Salford
George Arthur Carden, Brighton Argus
Danielle Masterson, The Sun
Melissa Sigodo, The Mirror
Sports journalism Um-E-Aymen Babar, News Associates London
Andrew McLean, University of Sheffield
Kit Shepard, News Associates London
Matthew Kayanja, The Times and The Sunday Times
Ji-Min Lee, Wokingham Today
Top scoop Tom Burgess, Cardiff University
Bartholomew Hall, University of Kent
Olivia Jones, Kingston University
Maya George, Southern Daily Echo
Annie Owen, North Wales Live
Albert Tait, Henley Standard
Features of the year Matt Lee, Nottingham Trent University
Emma Ogao, University of Kent
Jack Walton, News Associates Manchester
Yasmin Choudhury, The Times and The Sunday Times
Ayokunle Oluwalana, MyLondon
Georgina Quach, Financial Times
Podcast of the year Isabella Rosa Jewell, University of Salford
Oliver Murphy, News Associates London
Sharmeen Ziauddin, Kingston University
Micaela Arneson, Mission Based Media
Sam Harrison, Bury Free Press and Suffolk News
Bobby Twidale, freelance journalist
Data journalism Jinqian Li, University of Sheffield
Rut Urios Vidal, University of Kent
Sharmeen Ziauddin, Kingston University
Isabella Boneham, National World
Eamon Farhat, Bloomberg
Damian Shepherd, Bloomberg

Shortlisted in the specialist categories are:

Student project of the year

  • Widnes Vikings: More Than a Club, by Jack Kinsella, Liverpool John Moores University
  • The Bloody Truth: Period Poverty and Shame, by Olivia Snelson, University of Salford
  • An Investigation into Access to High Level Sport and Development Pathways for Teenagers and Young Adults, by Alexander Smith, Liverpool John Moores University

Innovation of the year award

  • Josh Joseph, from Glasgow Caledonian University
  • News Associates
  • Lisa Bradley, from the University of Sheffield

Equality, diversity and inclusion award, sponsored by the Financial Times

  • Ability Today’s Academy for Disabled Journalists
  • Amrit Singh Mann, Sky News
  • LGBTQ+ Journalism Network

Community News Project award, sponsored by Meta

  • Tom Bedworth, Warrington Guardian
  • Megan Howe, Shropshire Star
  • Ayokunle Oluwalana, My London
  • Albert Tait, Henley Standard
  • Daniella Theis, Greenock Telegraph
  • Paul McAuley, Liverpool Echo

Apprentice of the year award, sponsored by Brunswick Group

  • Danielle Desouza, PA Media, PA Training
  • Tymiah Ford, Times Radio, PA Training
  • Tamika Green, Bury Free Press, Darlington College
  • Daniel Kane, talkSPORT, PA Training
  • Georgia Langdon, Hexham Courant, Darlington College
  • Lauren Pinkney, Sky News, PA Training

Student of the year award, sponsored by The News Movement

  • Charley Bergman, Leeds Trinity University
  • Blanca Schofield, News Associates London
  • Jack Walton, News Associates Manchester
  • Anna Wise, News Associates London
  • Marcus Wratten, Kingston University

Trainee of the year award, sponsored by Alder Media

  • Amy Austin, Financial Times
  • Alec Evans, SurreyLive
  • Georgia Harland, Henley Standard

The chairman’s award will be presented at the ceremony in March.

Keep in touch

Sign up to receive the NCTJ’s eJournalism newsletter. Sent once a month, it will keep you up to date with the latest news and developments in journalism training.