Awards for Excellence 2019 shortlist

Category Student Trainee/Apprentice
News Journalism Nicola Driscoll-Davies, Brighton Journalist Works
Jack Dyson, NCTJ distance learning
Theofanis Pegkas, University of Sunderland
Rianna Croxford, BBC News
Conor Matchett, Edinburgh Evening News
Sam Volpe, Ham and High
Sports Journalism Jason Button, University of Sunderland
Dan Davis, Bournemouth University
Daniel Gallan, St Mary's University
Ella Jerman, News Associates London
Jonathan Harding, Racing Post
Mitch Waddon, West Ham United
Top Scoop Gregory Kirby, PA Training
Ffion Lewis, Cardiff University
Brendan Marshall, Ulster University
Will Jefford, Ipswich Star and East Anglian Daily Times
Lucy Jenkinson, Newsquest Cumbria
Conor Matchett, Edinburgh Evening News
Features Jack Dyson, NCTJ distance learning
Mariam Khattab, University of Sunderland
Nick Winchester, Ulster University
Anna Lewis, WalesOnline
Charlie MitchellThe Times and The Telegraph
Aamir Mohammed, WalesOnline
Multimedia story/campaign Olivia Lee, NCTJ distance learning
Gianni Marini and Greg Ockrim, Glasgow Caledonian University
Paula Ugochukwu, University of Sheffield
Meg Winton, Bournemouth University
Laura Longworth, Lancashire Post
Katie Smith, BBC

Best student project

  • Mindful, Kingston University
  • On the Border of War and Peace, University of Kent
  • The Tracks to Recovery, Bournemouth University

Apprentice of the year award, sponsored by Mark Allen Group

  • Nathan Atkinson, Darlington College and Telegraph and Argus
  • Sam Dixon-French, Highbury College and West Sussex County Times
  • Yohannes Lowe, PA Training and The Telegraph
  • Maddy Morrison, PA Training and Sky Sports News
  • Imogen Tew, Highbury College and Isle of Wight County Press

Student of the year award, sponsored by Sunderland City Council

  • Charlotte Bentley, City of Wolverhampton College
  • Cormac Connelly-Smith, News Associates London
  • Molly Millar, News Associates Manchester
  • Jessica Murray, University of Sheffield
  • Jennifer Tombs, News Associates London

Trainee of the year award, sponsored by the Society of Editors

  • Amy Gibbons, East Anglian Daily Times
  • Rhoda Morrison, Bury Free Press
  • Tamara Siddiqui, The News, Portsmouth

Innovation of the year award

  • Ulster University
  • University of Kingston
  • University of Sheffield

Equality, Diversity and Inclusion award, sponsored by the Financial Times

  • Laura Garcia, University of Kent
  • The 50:50 Project, BBC

Community News Project award

  • Laura Andrew, Doncaster Free Press and The Star, Sheffield
  • Naomi de Souza, Coventry Live
  • Shona Elliott, Edinburgh Evening News
  • Darren Gibb, Fife Free Press
  • Sarah Hussain, Eastern Daily Press
  • Oliver Kemp, KentOnline
  • Elly Roberts, Swindon Advertiser

The chairman’s award will be presented at the ceremony on 28 November.