NCTJ Awards for Excellence 2018 shortlist announced

After receiving a record-breaking 329 entries, some 52 students, trainees, apprentices, journalists and course providers have been shortlisted in the NCTJ Awards for Excellence 2018.

After receiving a record-breaking 329 entries, some 52 students, trainees, apprentices, journalists and course providers have been shortlisted in the NCTJ Awards for Excellence 2018.

The awards, which highlight the achievements of individuals with promising journalism careers ahead of them, are open to students on NCTJ-accredited and distance learning courses, and trainees who have completed the Diploma in Journalism and have less than two years’ experience in journalism.

There are five main categories for students and trainees: news, sports, top scoop, features and multimedia campaign. The student project category is also open for nominations from accredited course providers.

There are two performance awards for the students and trainees who have achieved the best exam results: student journalist of the year, chosen from 1,366 students who graduated from NCTJ-accredited courses in 2017/18, and trainee of the year, chosen from the 141 reporters who sat the National Qualification in Journalism during the academic year.

The apprentice of the year award is also available for the 98 registered journalism apprentices, based on nominations from employers and training providers.

There were eight entries for the new equality, diversity and inclusion award, which was launched this year to recognise the outstanding work of individuals, educators and employers who promote equality, diversity and inclusion in the media and training sector.

Daragh Minogue, MA sports journalism programme director at St Mary’s University, independent provider Press Association Training and Abbie Scott, deputy managing editor at the Financial Times have been shortlisted for the inaugural award.

Highbury College, News Associates Manchester and the University of Brighton have been shortlisted for the innovation of the year award, now in its second year. Innovation is now a performance standard in the NCTJ’s new approach to accreditation.

Special awards will be presented to the colleges, universities and independent providers with the top performing NCTJ-accredited courses based on students’ performance in the Diploma in Journalism.

All shortlisted entrants and their guests are invited to attend the gala dinner and awards ceremony at Quendon Hall on Thursday, 29 November. The winners will announced at the ceremony, which will be hosted by Sky News special correspondent and NCTJ patron, Alex Crawford.

NCTJ chairman, Kim Fletcher, will announce the winner of the 2018 chairman’s award, which recognises a nominated individual’s outstanding contribution to high standards of journalism training and education. Last year’s award was presented to David Holmes, former course leader at the University of Sheffield.

The shortlist can be viewed here.

Thank you to all our 2018 awards judges:

Michael Adkins, group editor, Archant
Mark Allen, chairman, Mark Allen Group
Abu Bundu-Kamara, NCTJ trustee and group diversity and inclusion specialist at Boeing
Ian Carter, editorial director, The KM Group
John Cary, freelance journalist and journalism lecturer
Hannah Chapman, editor, The Northern Echo
Jon Colman, sports reporter, News & Star/The Cumberland News
Sean Dooley, former editor-in-chief of Staffordshire Sentinel newspapers
Chris Elliott, freelance journalist and consultant
Nicole Garnon, editor, South Wales Argus
Alan Geere, editorial consultant and journalism educator
Ben Green, head of digital, The Star, Sheffield
Colin Hume, editor-in-chief, The Falkirk Herald
Anna Kessel, sports writer, The Guardian
Stephanie Marshall, head of BBC West
Cahair O’Kane, sports reporter, The Irish News
Chris Osuh, news editor, Manchester Evening News
Mark Payton, editorial director, Haymarket Consumer Media
Claire Pitcher, freelance editor
Satnam Rana, arts and culture correspondent, BBC
David Rowell, former head of editorial training, Johnston Press
Laurie Tucker, journalism training, Sky Sports News
Mark Waldron, editor, The News, Portsmouth
Emma Youle, special correspondent, HuffPost UK

Keep in touch

Sign up to receive the NCTJ’s eJournalism newsletter. Sent once a month, it will keep you up to date with the latest news and developments in journalism training.