Awards for Excellence

Awards for Excellence 2021 shortlist announced after another record-breaking year

Some 66 students, trainees, apprentices, journalists and training providers have been shortlisted in the NCTJ Awards for Excellence 2021.

Some 66 students, trainees, apprentices, journalists and training providers have been shortlisted in the NCTJ Awards for Excellence 2021.

A record-breaking 481 entries were received across 17 categories, in addition to the 1,407 students and trainees eligible for the student and trainee of the year awards.

Free to enter, the Awards for Excellence highlight the achievements of individuals with promising journalism careers ahead of them, and those doing outstanding work in the media and training sector.

There are six main categories for students, trainees and apprentices: news, sports, top scoop, features, podcast journalism and data journalism. Nominations are also taken for the best student projects.

Performance awards are also available for those who have achieved outstanding results in the Diploma in Journalism, National Qualification in Journalism and the Junior Journalist Apprenticeship.

There were 24 entries for the Community News Project award, which recognises the exceptional work done by reporters under the Community News Project (CNP) banner.

A number of CNP reporters are also shortlisted for awards in various other categories. Journalism Diversity Fund (JDF) recipients also feature heavily in this year’s shortlist, in both student, trainee and specialist categories.

Two JDF recipients, Sophia Alexandra Hall and Isabelle Jani-Friend, are shortlisted alongside News UK and Jem Collins, founder of Journo Resources, for the equality diversity and inclusion award.

This award, sponsored by the Financial Times, recognises the outstanding work of individuals, educators and employers who promote equality, diversity and inclusion in the media and training sector.

Nottingham Trent University, University of Kent and University of Sheffield have been shortlisted for the Innovation of the Year award, which encourages and recognises innovation in journalism education and training.

The winners will be announced in a ceremony in the spring. Further details will be announced in early 2022.

The winner of the 2021 chairman’s award, which recognises a nominated individual’s outstanding contribution to high standards of journalism training and education, will also be announced at the event.

Click here to view the shortlist.

Thank you to all our awards judges:

  • Laura Adams, client editorial director, Archant
  • Michael Adkins, senior group editor, Archant
  • Anna Allerton, journalist, Sky Sports
  • Abu Bundu-Kamara, global diversity and inclusion lead, Boeing
  • Craig Chisnall, staff editor, The Athletic
  • Will Dean, editor, Guardian Weekly
  • Nancy Fielder, editor, The Star, Sheffield
  • Katie French, regional group editor, Newsquest Buckinghamshire & Berkshire
  • Alan Geere, editorial consultant and journalism educator
  • Harriet Hall, lifestyle editor, Independent
  • Catherine Houlihan, managing editor, ITV Border
  • Luke Jacobs, regional editor (east), KentLive and SussexLive editor, editor of New Audiences and Untold Stories, Reach plc
  • Dan Mclaughlin, podcast producer, Laudable Podcasts
  • Richard Neville, head of newspapers, DC Thomson Media
  • Cristina Nicolotti Squires, director of content, Sky News
  • Nikki O’Donnell, senior editorial policy adviser, BBC
  • Emma Paton, presenter, Sky Sports
  • James Preston, editor, Maidenhead Advertiser and Slough and Windsor Express
  • David Rowell, former editorial trainer
  • Claire Sanderson, editor-in-chief, Women’s Health
  • Abbie Scott, deputy managing editor, Financial Times
  • Emily Sexton-Brown, assistant managing editor, Insider Inc
  • Martin Stabe, data editor, Financial Times
  • Bruce Talbot, media assistant, Brighton & Hove Albion Football Club
  • Dan Williams, head of politics, Sky News
  • Claire Wilde, data and investigations editor, JPIMedia
  • Emma Yates, assistant features editor, The Sun
  • Joy Yates, editorial director, JPIMedia

Keep in touch

Sign up to receive the NCTJ’s eJournalism newsletter. Sent once a month, it will keep you up to date with the latest news and developments in journalism training.