Awards for Excellence 2019 shortlist announced after another record-breaking number of entries

Some 57 students, trainees, apprentices, journalists and training providers have been shortlisted in the NCTJ Awards for Excellence 2019.

Some 57 students, trainees, apprentices, journalists and training providers have been shortlisted in the NCTJ Awards for Excellence 2019.

A record-breaking 395 entries were received across 15 categories, in addition to the 1,416 students, trainees and apprentices eligible for three performance awards.

Sponsored by The Independent, the Awards for Excellence highlight the achievements of individuals with promising journalism careers ahead of them, and those doing outstanding work in the media and training sector.

There are five main categories for students, trainees and apprentices: news, sports, top scoop, features and multimedia campaign. Nominations are also taken for the best student projects.

Performance awards are also available for those who have achieved outstanding results in the Diploma in Journalism, National Qualification in Journalism and the Junior Journalist Apprenticeship.

There were 47 entries for the new Community News Project award, launched this year to recognise the exceptional work done by reporters under the Community News Project banner.

The judges praised the high standard of entries, and shortlisted seven of the community reporters for the award.

The 50:50 project from the BBC has been shortlisted alongside University of Kent lecturer Laura Garcia for this year’s equality, diversity and inclusion award, sponsored by the Financial Times.

The award, now in its second year, recognises the outstanding work of individuals, educators and employers who promote equality, diversity and inclusion in the media and training sector.

Ulster University, the University of Kingston and the University of Sheffield have been shortlisted for the Innovation of the Year award, which aims to encourage and recognise innovation in journalism education and training.

Special awards will also be presented to the colleges, universities and independent providers with the top performing NCTJ-accredited courses based on students’ performance in the Diploma in Journalism.

All shortlisted entrants and their guests are invited to the awards ceremony at Sunderland’s Stadium of Light on 28 November, which will be hosted by Sky Sports presenter David Jones.

NCTJ chairman, Kim Fletcher, will also announce the winner of the 2019 chairman’s award, which recognises a nominated individual’s outstanding contribution to high standards of journalism training and education.

The shortlist can be viewed here.

Thank you to all our 2019 awards judges:

  • Michael Adkins, group editor, Archant
  • Holly Baxter, columnist and Voices co-editor, The Independent
  • Vaishali Bhardwaj, southern specialist reporter, Premier League Productions
  • Maria Breslin, digital editor, Liverpool Echo
  • Abu Bundu-Kamara, group diversity and inclusion specialist at Boeing
  • Faye Carruthers, sports broadcaster, Soccer Saturday, IMG and talkSPORT
  • Mark Edwards, editor, Peterborough Telegraph
  • Chris Elliott, freelance journalist and consultant
  • Nancy Fielder, editor, The Star, Sheffield
  • Alan Geere, editorial consultant and journalism educator
  • Will Gore, head of partnerships and projects, NCTJ
  • Justine Hancock, editor of the Good Health section, Daily Mail
  • Catherine Houlihan, managing editor, ITV Border
  • Michelle Johnson, director of digital media, Vantage Media Group
  • Stephanie Marshall, head of BBC West
  • Nikki O’Donnell, editor, BBC Look East
  • Cahair O’Kane, sports reporter, The Irish News
  • Simon Usborne, freelance feature writer
  • Chris Osuh, news editor, Manchester Evening News
  • James Preston, editor, Maidenhead Advertiser and Slough and Windsor Express
  • David Rowell, former editorial trainer
  • Chris Rushton, media consultant and trainer
  • Abbie Scott, deputy managing editor, Financial Times
  • Sam Shepherd, digital content, social and audience manager, Newsquest
  • Bruce Talbot, media relations manager, Crawley Town FC
  • Chas Watkin, executive editor, BBC Radio 4 You and Yours
  • Emma Youle, special correspondent, HuffPostUK

Keep in touch

Sign up to receive the NCTJ’s eJournalism newsletter. Sent once a month, it will keep you up to date with the latest news and developments in journalism training.