How to apply for a shorthand exam

Candidates on an NCTJ-accredited course

If your course structure includes shorthand, your centre will hold shorthand exams as appropriate. Please discuss available exam dates with your  course leader or tutor. Exam bookings are made by the course provider


Candidates attached to an approved exam centre

Industry candidates whose employer (e.g. newspaper office) is also an approved exam centre, please discuss available exam dates with your employer. Exam bookings are made by the employer.


All other external candidates (i.e. off-course students, distance learners, non-NCTJ learners)

The NCTJ hold National shorthand exams on set dates across the academic calendar for external candidates. This is to provide a structure for learners to work towards sitting exams on guaranteed exam dates and to be able to plan your learning accordingly.

Details of all National dates available acrossd 2020-21 academic year are provided below. You can book your exam via this page.

National exams dates Speed(s) offered Bookings open Booking deadline Results
Friday, 20 November 2020 60wpm & 100wpm Monday, 5 October 2020 Friday, 23 October 2020 Tuesday, 1 December 2020
Thursday, 15 April 2021 60wpm & 100wpm Monday, 15 February 2020 Friday, 19 March 2021 Tuesday, 27 April 2021
Friday, 25 June 2021 60wpm & 100wpm Monday, 3 May 2021 Friday, 28 June 2021 Tuesday, 6 July 2021