Looking for a shorthand tutor

If you are a student looking for one to one or group tutorial please see the list below for a shorthand teacher in your area. You will need to contact them directly for further information regarding fees and availability (some tutors offer individual and group sessions).

If you are a shorthand tutor and would like to be added to our database you will need the following:

  • Teeline experience
  • A general teaching qualification (preferable)
  • A shorthand speed qualification
  • Experience of reading NCTJ exams

Experience of reading NCTJ exams can be obtained by purchasing past papers, shorthand CD’s and books from our Shop.

If you have all of the above, please forward your CV to andy.summers@nctj.com.

Please note, the NCTJ do not employ shorthand tutors directly and does not have a contractual agreement in place with the contacts who appear on this list. Whilst the contacts on this list are not directly endorsed by the NCTJ, we do reserve the right to remove contacts from the list at our discretion. If you are looking for employment as a shorthand tutor please refer to our Accredited Courses section on the website where you can obtain the centre’s contact details.

 

LONDON

Angela Catto
Tel: 07785 788156 or 0208 876 2877
Email: angela_catto@hotmail.com
London and south west

Kate Charles
Tel: 0208 543 9186 or 07964 342133
Email: ccharles10@aol.com
London zones 1-3 and Surrey

Ann Jones
Tel: 01279 438380
Email: ajosephinejones@live.co.uk
Covers most of Essex, Herts and East London

Vicky Lane
Tel: 07828 170226
Email: vicky-lane@hotmail.co.uk
London zones 1-3

Mary Marc-Peterkin
Tel: 0208 508 3294
Email: dollina@btinternet.com
Up to Zone 1, within easy travelling by bus/underground train

Cherry Mattey
Tel: 0208 669 9794
Email: cmattey@yahoo.co.uk
London, Surrey, Kent and Sussex

Lizzy Millar
Tel: 07758646186
Email: lizzy@shorthandtraining.co.uk
London zones 1-3 and via online webinar.

Jane Murphy
Tel: 01732 824405 or 07752 537205
Email: jmurphytraining@aol.com
London, Kent, Essex/Surrey – close to the M25

Marilyn Somers
Tel: 01273 833987
Email: marilyn.somers@virgin.net
London, Sussex and Surrey

Richard Ward
Tel: 020 3561 9770 or 07717 341006
Email: gemini65@sky.com

London

Pitman Training London
Tel: 020 7256 6668
Email: shorthand@pitmanlondon.co.uk
London – EC2 (City) and W1W (West End)

Teeline Online
Website: www.teelineshorthand.org
Email: admin@teelineonline.co.uk
Online shorthand courses available, including one day masterclasses held in London. Please see above website.

 

ESSEX, HERTS, BEDS and BUCKS

June Beavers
Tel: 01992 560445
Email: beaversjune@gmail.com
West Essex and London

Lysbeth Boomer-Hawkins
Tel: 01367 516817
Email: Lysboomer@hotmail.com
North East Essex

Mrs R I Crocombe
Tel: 01295 261638
Email: enquiries@bss.eclipse.co.uk
Oxfordshire, Northamptonshire and Warwickshire

Ann Jones
Tel: 01279 438380
Email: ajosephinejones@live.co.uk
Covers most of Essex, Herts and East London

Jenny Locke
Tel: 01992 468610 or 07709 741536
Email: jenny.locke@btinternet.com
Hertfordshire and Essex

Monica Marshall
Tel: 01844 346943 or 07742 809623
Email: monica@marshallhome5.fsnet.co.uk
30 mile radius of Princes Risborough covering Bucks, Oxfordshire, Herts and Middlesex

Jane Murphy
Tel: 01732 824405 or 07752 537205
Email: jmurphytraining@aol.com
London, Kent, Essex/Surrey – close to the M25

Jane Shardlow
Tel: 07703 101021
Email: janeshardlow@yahoo.co.uk
Hertfordshire, Bedfordshire and Cambridgeshire

 

NORTH

Christy Jade Biggar
Tel: 07821 885695
Email: Christy_@live.co.uk
North West – Wirral/Merseyside

Janet Bowring
Tel: 0114 230 7570
Email: janet6002003@yahoo.co.uk
25 mile radius of Sheffield

Milica Budimir
Tel: 07812 183809
Email: milica.1972@yahoo.co.uk
Stoke-on-Trent. May travel to Midlands, Derbyshire, Nottinghamshire and North West.

Kaye Carl
Tel: 01142 366659
Email: furbycarlo@hotmail.co.uk
Sheffield - within reasonable travelling distance

Emma Dodds
Tel: 07948 447402
Email: emmacdodds.23@gmail.com
Sheffield - City centre

Sandra Gingell
Tel: 01484 684797
Email: tamarisk33@talktalk.net
25 mile radius of Holmfirth, West Yorkshire

Susan Green
Tel: 07799 826361
Email: suegr2000@yahoo.co.uk
Preston to Wigan area

Gillian Hodgson
Email: gillian.hodgson@btopenworld.com
South Lakes to Manchester area

Dora Johnson
Tel: 0115 848 4188
Email: dora.johnson@ntu.ac.uk
Nottingham and surrounding areas

Terry Kirton
Tel: 01900 815936
Email: terence.kirton@btinternet.com
Cumbria

Irene Maddocks
Tel: 07736 005901
Email: Prashrabdhi@gmail.com
Chester, Wrexham and surrounding areas

Hazel Morgan
Tel: 0151 526 4429 or 07801 537447
Email: hihaze@blueyonder.co.uk
Merseyside and neighbouring areas depending on distance

Susan Nixon
Tel: 07411 100854
Email: nixonsusan1@gmail.com
North East - Newcastle, Gateshead and Sunderland

Susan Pickering
Tel: 0191 584 6233
Email: susan2@talktalk.net
50 mile radius of Sunderland, including Durham, Tyneside, Teesside, North Yorkshire and Northumberland

Pauline Sandor
Tel: 01670 519906
Email: paulinesandor@yahoo.co.uk
Northumberland, Newcastle and surrounding areas including Morpeth, Blyth and Ponteland. Willing to travel further on request

Paul Thompson
Tel: 01457 859081 or 07751 691129
Email: paul@teelineOnline.com
Derbyshire's High Peak, Tameside, Greater Manchester and nearby parts of Sheffield and Cheshire

Rosalie Watts
Tel: 07508 340051
Email: rosalieswatts@gmail.com
Staffordshire, Cheshire, Manchester and Birmingham

 

EAST

Sarah Brown
Tel: 01553 767088 or 07984 047259
Email: Sarah.ibbetsonbrown@outlook.com
Norfolk, Suffolk and Cambridgeshire

Phyllis Maiden
Tel: 01522 754179
Email: phyllismaiden@virginmedia.com
Lincolnshire

Jane Shardlow
Tel: 07703 101021
Email: janeshardlow@yahoo.co.uk
Cambridgeshire, Bedfordshire and Hertfordshire

Pitman Training Cambridge
Tel: 01223 319419
Email: cambridge@pitman-training.net
Cambridgeshire

 

SOUTH

Pat Aplin
Tel: 01305 266500 or 07968 089668
Email: pat.aplin@btinternet.com
Dorchester, Dorset

Sarah Booker-Lewis
Tel: 01273 693154 or 07968 563928
Email: sb_lewis@icloud.com
Sussex and West Kent

Sylvia Bennett
Tel: 01424 222170 or 07774 426946
Email: sylvia.bennett@learnshorthand.co.uk
Sussex and Kent

Dinah Castle
Tel: 01929 425030 or 07787 435549
Email: dcastle32@talktalk.net
Swanage – may be able to travel, please contact the tutor or further details

Kate Charles
Tel: 0208 543 9186 or 07964 342133
Email: ccharles10@aol.com
London zones 1-3 and Surrey

Sue Hackett
Tel: 01489 579365 or 07881 524015
Email: susanehackett@gmail.com
Hampshire, Dorset, Devon, Wiltshire, West Sussex, Online Courses available

Joan Hooper
Tel: 02392 410 166 / 07974 673 380
Email: ljoan@btinternet.com
Hampshire, Wiltshire, West Sussex, London

Nicki Jones
Tel: 01903 879525
Email: nicki@jonesukltd.co.uk
Sussex

Cherry Mattey
Tel: 0208 669 9794
Email: cmattey@yahoo.co.uk
Surrey, Kent, Sussex and London

Jane Murphy
Tel: 01732 824405 or 07752 537205
Email: jmurphytraining@aol.com
London, Kent, Essex/Surrey – close to the M25

Marilyn Somers
Tel: 01273 833987
Email: marilyn.somers@virgin.net
Sussex, Surrey and London

 

WEST (including Midlands)

Jeannette Bond
Tel: 01453 751767
Email: jeannette@bond-tss.co.uk
Gloucestershire and the south-west

Mrs R I Crocombe
Tel: 01295 261638
Email: enquiries@bss.eclipse.co.uk
Oxfordshire, Northamptonshire and Warwickshire

Valerie Day
Tel: 01213 782010 or 07833 196679
Email: val.day@blueyonder.co.uk
Sutton Coldfield, surrounding areas and Birmingham

Daphne Little
Tel: 01380 860296
Email: little2000@totalserve.co.uk
Wiltshire and parts of Somerset

Irene Maddocks
Tel: 07736 005901
Email: Prashrabdhi@gmail.com
Chester, Wrexham and surrounding areas

Janette McCutcheon
Tel: 07553 652054
Email: teelineshorthand@gmail.com
Gloucester, Cheltenham, Forest of Dean and Tewkesbury
May travel to Worcestershire, Wales or the West Midlands – please contact tutor for further details

Janet Poole
Tel: 07918 701205 or 01782 396525
Email: janet-poole@btconnect.com
West Midlands, East Midlands, North West

Carol Tookey
Tel: 01386 870551
Email: carol@tookey.net
Evesham, Worcester, Stratford upon Avon, Redditch, Cheltenham, Birmingham, Solihull

Joan Ryder
Tel: 01384 394228 or 07800 596084
Email: joanryder24@btinternet.com
West Midlands, Worcestershire and Shropshire

 

CORNWALL AND DEVON

Christine Burns
Tel: 07910 294586
Email: chris.burns12@btinternet.com

South-East Cornwall, South and Mid Devon

Fran McElhone
Tel: 07905 125822
Email: franmcelhone@gmail.com
East Devon – may be able to travel, please contact tutor for further details

Sue Norcross
Tel: 01326 573628
Email: sue.norcross@cornwall.ac.uk
West Cornwall – Camborne, Redruth, Penzance, Falmouth and Helston

 

CENTRAL

Mary Boothroyd
Tel: 01572 756097 or 07919 100853
Email: mary.boothroyd@yahoo.co.uk
Approx 25 mile radius from Oakham, Rutland

Elizabeth Davies
Tel: 01536 771512
Email: edavies@tresham.ac.uk
Leicester area

 

SCOTLAND

Charles Fletcher
Tel: 07774 405 279
Email: charles@caledoniamedia.scot
Glasgow, Edinburgh, Borders and West of Scotland

Donna MacAllister
Tel: 07818 569037 / 01667 451238
Email: donnamacallister@me.com
Nairn and surrounding areas

Claire McCarthy
Tel: 07899 811389
Email: cjmccarthy@hotmail.co.uk
Tayside, Fife, Angus and M8 corridor

 

WALES

Irene Maddocks
Tel: 07736 005901
Email: Prashrabdhi@gmail.com
Chester, Wrexham and surrounding areas

Janette McCutcheon
Tel: 07553 652054
Email: teelineshorthand@gmail.com
Gloucester, Cheltenham, Forest of Dean and Tewkesbury
May travel to Worcestershire, Wales or the West Midlands – please contact tutor for further details

Cheryl Tootill
Tel: 01554 759599
Email: alchtootill@fsmail.net
South West Wales

Marlene Lewis
Tel: 07871 555092
Email: Marlene@ShorthandExpert.com
South Wales (Pencoed/Bridgend area)

 

UK

Elaine Galloway
Tel: 0208 144 1905
Email: Elaine.Galloway@OnlineShorthand.com

Pitman Training Cambridge
Tel: 01223 319419
Email: cambridge@pitman-training.net
Cambridgeshire

Pitman Training London
Tel: 020 7256 6668
Email: shorthand@pitmanlondon.co.uk
London – EC2 (City) and W1W (West End)

Teeline Online
Website: www.teelineshorthand.org
Email: admin@teelineonline.co.uk
Online shorthand courses available. Please see above website.