How to apply for a shorthand exam

  1. decide which date you want to sit the exam
  2. choose a venue from those listed in the exam venues document below
  3. telephone the venue to book and pay for the exam
  4. take photographic ID with you to the exam - driving licence, valid passport, student ID card, company ID card

Please click on the link below for a list of exam dates and available venues.

Please note, not all centres accept external candidates

Centres have up until two weeks before the exam date to apply to the NCTJ. Therefore if you do not see a centre in your area please refer back to the venues list nearer the time of the exam date.

NB – The exam venues page is updated regularly with all of the details of centres that have applied to hold exams.

Month Exam Date Speed Results Date Notes
September 2016 Friday 9 100 Tuesday 20 September  
  Friday 16 80, 100 Tuesday 27 September Final 100wpm date for November NQJ
October 2016 Friday 14 100 Tuesday 25 October  
November 2016 Thursday 10 60, 100 Tuesday 22 November  
  Thursday 24 80 Tuesday 6 December  
  Friday 25 60, 100 Tuesday 6 December  
December 2016 Thursday 8 70, 110 Tuesday 5 January  
  Friday 9 80, 100 Tuesday 5 January  
  Thursday 15 60, 100 Tuesday 5 January  
January 2017 Thursday 5 80, 100 Tuesday 17 January  
  Friday 6 60, 100 Tuesday 17 January  
  Thursday 19 60, 100 Tuesday 31 January

Final 100wpm date for March NQJ

  Friday 20 80, 110 Tuesday 31 January  
  Thursday 26 80, 120 Tuesday 7 February  
  Friday 27 60, 100 Tuesday 7 February  
February 2017 Thursday 9 60, 80 Tuesday 21 February  
  Friday 10 80, 100 Tuesday 21 February  
  Thursday 23 80, 100 Tuesday 7 March  
  Friday 24 60,70 Tuesday 7 March  
March 2017 Thursday 9 90, 100 Tuesday 21 March  
  Friday 10 60, 80 Tuesday 21 March  
  Thursday 23 80, 100 Tuesday 4 April  
April 2017 Friday 7 60, 100 Wednesday 19 April  
  Thursday 20 100, 120 Wednesday 3 May  
  Friday 21 60, 80 Wednesday 3 May  
  Thursday 27 80, 100 Tuesday 9 May  
  Friday 28 100, 110 Tuesday 9 May  
         
May 2017 Thursday 11 100 Tuesday 23 May  
  Friday 12 60, 70 Tuesday 23 May  
  Thursday 18 80, 90 Wednesday 31 May  
  Friday 19 80, 100 Wednesday 31 May Final 100wpm date for July NQJ
June 2017 Thursday 1 60, 80 Tuesday 13 June  
  Friday 2 100, 120 Tuesday 13 June  
  Thursday 8 80, 100 Tuesday 20 June  
  Thursday 22 100, 110 Tuesday 4 July  
  Friday 23 60, 80 Tuesday 4 July  
  Thursday 29 60, 100 Tuesday 11 July  
July 2017 Thursday 13 80, 120 Tuesday 25 July  
  Friday 14 60, 100 Tuesday 25 July