NQJ exam dates

Exam dates for the NQJ are offered three times a year; March, July and November.

The next available NQJ exams take place on Thursday 7th and Friday 8th March 2024. Enrolment opens Thursday, 14th December 2023. Please ensure to book your exam(s) in good time, as the NCTJ are unable to accept late booking requests.

Eligibility: you must have registered for this qualification first and had access to your e-logbook before you can enrol for your NQJ exams.

You must have achieved the full gold standard diploma prior to enrolling for the NQJ. You will also need to have completed 18 months training by the date of the exams and ensure exam results in essential media law, media law court reporting and public affairs are not more than five years old.

NQJ exam timetable:

NQJ exam date Enrolment opens Last date to sit 100wpm shorthand  Enrolment closes (at 5pm) Results issued (by 5pm)
Thursday, 9 November 2023 Thursday, 10 August 2023 Friday, 15 September 2023 Friday, 6 October 2023 Tuesday, 12 December 2023
Friday, 10 November 2023 Thursday, 10 August 2023 Friday, 15 September 2023 Friday, 6 October 2023 Tuesday, 12 December 2023
Thursday, 7 March 2024 Thursday, 14 December 2023 Thursday, 18 January 2024 Friday, 2 February 2024 Tuesday, 9 April 2024
Friday, 8 March 2024 Thursday, 14 December 2023 Thursday, 18 January 2024 Friday, 2 February 2024 Tuesday, 9 April 2024

Enrol now

Further information and exam times:

The NCTJ offer candidates the option to sit their NQJ exams in-office if your company has suitable facilities available, or remotely at home.

The new exam times are here:

Day One Day Two
Media Law and Ethics in Practice Practical Skills
Start 10:00am 10:00am
Finish 12:00pm 12:30pm

Keep in touch

Sign up to receive the NCTJ’s eJournalism newsletter. Sent once a month, it will keep you up to date with the latest news and developments in journalism training.