Top-performing NCTJ candidates celebrated for outstanding diploma exam results

Twelve candidates have been rewarded for achieving the best results in the 2019-20 NCTJ Diploma in Journalism exams.

Twelve candidates have been rewarded for achieving the best results in the 2019-20 NCTJ Diploma in Journalism exams.

The award winners were announced today in the latest NCTJ Diploma in Journalism Examiners’ Report, which was published alongside the 2019-20 Quality Assurance and Standards Committee report.

A total of 6,431 Diploma in Journalism exams were sat during this academic year, and seventy-one per cent of candidates achieved the gold standard, compared to sixty-six per cent the previous year.

In the report, the NCTJ’s principal examiner Amanda Ball praised the efforts of students, centres and the NCTJ during what has been “the most challenging of years in education and training”.

She said: “Standards appear to be unaffected, with the proportion of candidates attaining a ‘gold standard’ A-C pass in most subjects remaining very similar to the previous year. In some subjects there were notable increases in the pass rate.”

Amanda added: “The platforms and procedures the NCTJ has put in place for remote delivery protect the integrity of the assessments and the reliability and validity of the assessment results, whilst giving candidates a much-needed opportunity to achieve their qualification without further delay.”

Each diploma award winner will receive a certificate and a cheque for £250 from the award sponsor to recognise their outstanding exam results.

Joanne Butcher, chief executive of the NCTJ, said: “The talent on this year’s list of award winners deserve extra special recognition for their exceptional performance, achieved during their studies in a global pandemic. Passing with gold standard is challenging enough during the best of times; getting high percentage A grades and top shorthand speeds is a remarkable achievement in such difficult circumstances.

“We are fortunate to have the support of a fantastic range of award sponsors who allow us to recognise and reward the achievements of those who have done so well in their exams. Many thanks to them and congratulations to all the award winners.”

The full list of winners is as follows:

The Archant essential journalism award
Ellen Halliday, News Associates London

The Oxford University Press essential media law award
Melanie Rawson, University of Sheffield

The JPIMedia media law: court reporting award
Ines Fernandes Louro Santos, University of Sheffield

The Oxford University Press public affairs award
Sraddha Sabu, University of Sheffield

The Society of Editors shorthand award (100wpm)
Calum Johnson, University of Salford

The Sky Sports News shorthand award (120wpm)
Charlie Moloney, PA Training

The ITV News broadcast journalism award
Jacob Ottaway, University of Essex

The Facebook editing skills for journalists’ award
Hannah Voak, distance learner

The Mark Allen Group business of magazines award
Eve Jarvis, Glasgow Caledonian University

The Archant videojournalism award
Kelham Hilton, University of Salford

The Premier League sports journalism award
James Martin, PA Training

The Reach journalism for a digital audience award
Catriona Aitken, Cardiff University

The overall Student of the Year award for the 2019-20 academic year will be announced at the virtual Awards for Excellence ceremony in partnership with Sky News on Thursday, 18 March.

Keep in touch

Sign up to receive the NCTJ’s eJournalism newsletter. Sent once a month, it will keep you up to date with the latest news and developments in journalism training.