Shortlist for Journalism Diversity Fund training bursaries

The shortlist for Journalism Diversity Fund bursaries for cohort three is available to view here.

Nine budding journalists have been shortlisted for Journalism Diversity Fund bursaries to cover the cost of their NCTJ-accredited journalism training.
The full shortlist is as follows:

• Tom Eden
• Thomas Hewitt
• Alex Jackson
• Jamie Mountain
• Sufiya Rehman
• Charlotte Ryan
• Shruti Sheth
• Joseph Smith
• Shekina Tuahene

The candidates have been invited for interview and will be questioned by a panel of senior journalists and editors at The Daily Telegraph in London on Friday, 14 August.

The applicants will be asked various questions about their passion for journalism, financial need and diversity.
Bursaries are awarded to those from socially and/or ethnically diverse backgrounds who have a passion for journalism and can demonstrate how they will bring diversity to the newsroom. Bursaries are awarded to cover the cost of journalism training and may include a contribution towards travel or living expenses depending on financial need.

Applications for cohort four, and NCTJ-accredited courses beginning in the new year, are now open. The closing date for applications is Wednesday, 4 November.

Keep in touch

Sign up to receive the NCTJ’s eJournalism newsletter. Sent once a month, it will keep you up to date with the latest news and developments in journalism training.