NCTJ students shine in Scottish awards

Students on NCTJ-accredited courses dominated the limelight at a journalism awards ceremony in Scotland this week.

Students on NCTJ-accredited courses dominated the limelight at a journalism awards ceremony in Scotland this week.

The Write Stuff Awards, now in its 12th year, named students from across the country who are excelling in journalism courses at HND, undergraduate and postgraduate levels.

Nine of the ten winning students are studying on NCTJ-accredited courses at either Cardonald College or Glasgow Caledonian University.

Cardonald’s Marc Deanie, 23, took the top accolade of Evening Times Scottish Student Journalist of the Year.

The first-year student impressed judges with his portfolio, which included an interview with Nottingham Forest European Cup Winner John McGovern and a feature on The Stone Roses. He won £200 and a month’s placement with the Evening Times. He also won the College Entertainment Writing prize.

Evening Times Assistant Editor Graeme Smith, who presented Marc with his award, said: “The standard of entries was once again high and augurs well for the future.”

Marc said: “I’m delighted to have been named the Evening Times Student Journalist of the Year and to have won the College Entertainment Writing Award – both were very unexpected. I’m very keen to work in the Scottish media and this is a real boost. I’m positive about the outlook for the press in Scotland and think if you’re brave and take a chance there is a great future for student journalists here.”

Students at Cardonald won six of the prizes on offer. Martin Boyle, co-ordinator of the college’s journalism course, said: “I’m delighted. It just goes to show that if you do the work, the opportunities are there in journalism.”

The awards were presented in Glasgow City Chambers on Wednesday evening, at a civic reception.

The other winners were:
Feature Writing – Louise Hallman, Glasgow Caledonian
University Entertainment Writing – Amy MacBeath, Glasgow Caledonian
University Sports Writing – Gareth Jones, Glasgow Caledonian
College News Writing – Erik Geddes, Cardonald College
College Feature Writing – Rosemary Lowne, Cardonald College
College Sports Writing – Amir Rashid, Cardonald College
Scoop of the Year – joint winners Sharon Thompson, Glasgow Caledonian and Erik Geddes, Cardonald College
News Writing – Catriona MacPhee, Stirling University.

Each winner received a prize cheque and certificate.

The accolades were hotly contested, with entries submitted by students at Adam Smith College; Glasgow Metropolitan College; Edinburgh’s Telford College; Cardonald College Glasgow; University of West of Scotland; Strathclyde University; Glasgow Caledonian University; Napier University and Stirling University.

Keep in touch

Sign up to receive the NCTJ’s eJournalism newsletter. Sent once a month, it will keep you up to date with the latest news and developments in journalism training.