Awards for Excellence 2023 shortlist

The judges have shortlisted students, trainees, apprentices and training providers in the 2023 Awards for Excellence.

Some 699 entries were received across 17 categories for the annual awards, which highlight the achievements of individuals with promising journalism careers ahead of them and those doing outstanding work in the media and training sector.

The NCTJ is grateful to News UK, this year’s headline sponsor of the awards, and to all the media organisations which support the event.

Shortlisted in the student and trainee categories are:

Student Trainee/apprentice
News journalism, sponsored by Iliffe Media Tempany Grace, NCTJ distance learner
Max Kendix, News Associates London
Martin Read, NCTJ distance learner
Daniel Wood, Bournemouth University
Dolly Carter, East Anglian Daily Times
Kia-Elise Green, iNews
Jamel SmithPA Media
Sports journalism, sponsored by Sky Sports News Elise HamersleyNews Associates London
Leon Imber, University of Brighton
Adwaidh Rajan, St Mary’s University
Uma Gurav, talkSPORT
Alec McQuarrie, Freelance
Ben Parsons, Bunkered, DC Thomson
Top scoop, sponsored by Sky News Oliver Murphy, News Associates London
Lily Shanagher, City of Portsmouth College
Bethan Wild, Cardiff University
Harry Baker, Live Science
Ruth Cassidy, KentOnline
Sabrina Miller, The Mail on Sunday and The Daily Mail
Features of the year, sponsored by Mark Allen Group Constance Bowker, News Associates London
Harry Robinson, The University of Sheffield
Charlotte Alt, The Times
Rory Bennett, MyLondon
Bethan Finighan, Kennedy News and Media
Podcast of the year, sponsored by Politico Jonathan Bentley, University of Salford
Michael Johnston, St Mary’s University
Francisco dos Santos / Reagan Yip, Nottingham Trent University
George Crafer, BBC
Jacob Evans, BBC
Carla Rosch, BBC
Data journalism, sponsored by Market Research Society/British Polling Council Eleanor Gunn, News Associates London
Max Kendix, News Associates London
Petra Matijevic, NCTJ distance learner
Hayley Clarke, BBC
Eamon Akil Farhat, Bloomberg
Jack Fifield, The Oldham Times

Shortlisted in the specialist categories are:

Student project of the year, sponsored by The BMJ

  • How to heal a city, by Asher Gibson, News Associates London
  • The hidden heroes of our society, by Megan Sarah Payton, University of Kent
  • Angle News Bulletin from the University of Gloucestershire, by Kaleigh Pritchard, University of Gloucestershire

Innovation of the year award, sponsored by i

  • Lisa Bradley, from the University of Sheffield
  • Mark Bradley and Michelle Rawlins, from the University of Sheffield
  • Polly Rippon, from the University of Sheffield

Equality, diversity and inclusion awards, sponsored by the Financial Times

  • Liverpool John Moores University, journalism department
  • Zeenia Naqvee, Cardiff University
  • Emaan Warraich, journalism researcher, BBC

Community News Project award, sponsored by Meta

  • Maxine Denton, Cornwall Live
  • Jack Fifield, Oldham Times
  • Mirek Gosney, Newbury Weekly News/ Newbury Today
  • Paul McAuley, Liverpool Echo
  • Eszter Tárnai, Glasgow Times

Apprentice of the year award, sponsored by Yahoo

  • Karimah Bangura, ITN, PA Training
  • Eamon Akil Farhat, Bloomberg, PA Training
  • Ayisha Gharu, Haymarket, PA Training
  • Ella Hambly, BBC, University of Kent
  • Amrit Singh Mann, Sky News, PA Training
  • Albert Tait, Newsquest, Darlington College

Student of the year award, sponsored by The News Movement

  • Alexandra Bánfi, Cardiff University
  • Eve Bennett, News Associates London
  • Bethan Finighan, News Associates Manchester
  • Noah Keate, News Associates London
  • Harriet Muckle, University of Salford
  • Molly Pavord, News Associates London

Trainee of the year award, sponsored by Alder Media

  • Victoria Finan, The Yorkshire Post
  • Megan Howe, Shropshire Star
  • Jacob Panons, Eastbourne Herald
  • William Payne, TTG Media

The chairman’s award will be presented at the ceremony in March.

Keep in touch

Sign up to receive the NCTJ’s eJournalism newsletter. Sent once a month, it will keep you up to date with the latest news and developments in journalism training.