Awards for Excellence 2016 deadline extended by one week

The deadline for entries to this year’s NCTJ Awards for Excellence has been extended by one week. NCTJ students and trainees now have until 5pm on Friday, 23 September to submit their entries.

The awards recognise and reward the best journalism students completing NCTJ-accredited courses and journalists with less than two years' experience on the job. With quality training and high standards at the heart of the NCTJ, these awards showcase the achievements of individuals with promising journalism careers ahead of them.

The awards continue to be free to enter and winners will be invited to a gala dinner in November.

The categories for students and trainees are:

·         news journalism

·         sports journalism

·         top scoop/exclusive

·         features of the year

·         multimedia story/campaign of the year

There is a student project of the year category for NCTJ-accredited course providers to submit a student project (newspaper, magazine, website, or broadcast package) which has been produced between September 2015 and August 2016.

There are three performance awards: the student of the year, awarded to the best-performing student based on diploma exam results and references, and trainee of the year, awarded to the best-performing trainee in the National Qualification in Journalism (NQJ). There is no call for entries for these awards, as they are based on exam results.

The third performance award, apprentice of the year, is selected based on nominations provided by employers and tutors. Nominations should include a description of outstanding professional progress, practical application, a positive approach to employment and training, and excellent personal qualities.

Finally, nominations are welcome for the NCTJ chairman's award, which recognises an individual’s outstanding contribution to high standards of journalism training. Nominations are invited, in no more than 500 words, on why the individual is worthy of this award. He or she could be an editor, a tutor or anyone who has made a meaningful impact on the training of journalists. Recent recipients have included Sue Green, Paul Durrant, David Kett and David Rowell.

The shortlist is due to be published on 14 October and the winners will be presented at the NCTJ Journalism Skills Conference in November 2016.

The NCTJ website has full details of categories and guidance on how to enter. For further information visit the NCTJ website.