NCTJ invites student and trainee journalists to enter 2018 Awards for Excellence

The 2018 NCTJ Awards for Excellence are open for entries from students, trainees, junior journalists and apprentices across the UK.

The annual awards, which are free to enter, recognise and reward the achievements of talented individuals with promising journalism careers ahead of them.

The categories for students and trainees are:

  • News journalism
  • Sports journalism
  • Top scoop
  • Features
  • Multimedia story/campaign

There is also a student project category, in which NCTJ-accredited course providers can nominate a student project (newspaper, magazine, website or broadcast package), produced between 1 September 2017 and 31 August 2018.

Performance awards will be presented to the accredited courses with the best results, as well as the best performing student, trainee and apprentice of the year.

The student and trainee performance awards will be presented to the best performing candidates based on exam results, while we invite training providers and employers to nominate outstanding apprentices for the apprentice of the year award.

The innovation of the year award, which encourages and recognises innovation in journalism education and training, is also open for entries, as well as the equality, diversion and inclusion award, which is new for 2018.

Finally, nominations are welcome for the NCTJ chairman’s award, which recognises an individual’s outstanding contribution to high standards of journalism training. He or she could be an editor, a tutor or anyone who has made a meaningful impact on the training of journalists.

In 2017, the chairman’s award was presented to David Holmes, former course leader at the University of Sheffield.

All shortlisted entrants and their guests will be invited to celebrate their achievements at the Awards for Excellence ceremony and gala dinner on 29 November, where the winners will be announced.

Students and trainees can enter now via the member area of the NCTJ website and all submissions are free of charge.

The deadline for entering is Friday, 14 September at 5pm. Full details on submission guidelines and rules of entry are available here.