Stellar speakers at the NCTJ’s Journalism Skills Conference in Cardiff

This year’s annual NCTJ Journalism Skills Conference in Cardiff on 2-3 December is boasting a glittering line-up of top journalists from a full range of UK media.  

The NCTJ’s Journalism Skills Conference brings together decision makers in journalism’s education, training and industry sectors, and is a must-attend annual event for those who are passionate about quality multimedia journalism. This year the NCTJ is working with Cardiff University and the leading media organisations in Wales.

On day one, NCTJ chairman Kim Fletcher will chair a Question Time skills debate panel, which is to date made up of the following heads of media: Alan Edmunds, editor of Media Wales; Rhian Gibson, director of commissioning at S4C; Phil Henfrey, head of news at ITV; Barrie Jones, editor-in-chief of North Wales Newspapers; and Mark O’Callaghan, head of news and current affairs at BBC Wales.

This will be followed by a talk on reporting devolution by Betsan Powys, political editor at BBC Wales, and Mike Gilson, the editor of the Belfast Telegraph. Betsan covers politics for both Wales and the rest of the UK, and Mike, who has worked in Scotland, Northern Ireland, England and Wales, was previously editor at The Scotsman, edited The News in Portsmouth and the Peterborough Evening Telegraph, and was a night editor at the Western Mail.

In the evening, there will be a dinner at Cardiff Castle, where the NCTJ-accredited course performance awards for 2009-10 will be presented, along with the 2010 NCTJ Chairman’s Award. A prestigious after-dinner speaker will soon be announced.

Day two takes place at Cardiff University with a keynote address on digital media futures and a panel discussion about what it means to be a fully converged journalist. There will then be an NCTJ accreditation and qualifications update, followed by a tour of Media Wales.

The Press Association and Visit Wales are conference sponsors.

To reserve your place(s) please complete the and email it to [email protected] before 29 October 2010 to secure the preferential early booking rate. You will receive a VAT invoice by return.