NCTJ Awards for Excellence in Journalism 2011 launched

The NCTJ Awards for Excellence in Journalism 2011 are now open for entries from students and trainees around the UK.

Now in their fourth year, the awards recognise and celebrate the achievements of students on NCTJ-accredited courses and trainee journalists working toward the NCE who have less than two years’ experience in their field.

There are five categories each with two awards, one for students and one for trainees. The categories are:

  • News journalism
  • Sports journalism
  • Top Scoop/exclusive
  • Features of the year
  • Images of the year

Entries can be submitted in video, audio or written formats.

There is also a chance to submit nominations for a special award, the NCTJ Chairman's Award which will recognise an individual’s outstanding contribution to high standards of journalism training. Anyone can put forward a candidate to be considered for the NCTJ Chairman’s Award.

The deadline for all entry forms to reach the NCTJ is 5pm on Friday 16 September 2011. Tutors and editors may enter on behalf of their students and trainees. Work submitted to the awards must have been produced between 1 September 2010 and 31 August 2011

Category winners will receive their awards at a special ceremony at the Society of Editors’ Conference on 14 November 2011. The Chairman’s Award will be presented at the Journalism Skills Conference in Belfast on 30 November 2011.

Full details of how to enter the awards are available on our website.