Judges announced for NCTJ Awards for Excellence

Award-winning journalists from The Times and the Daily Mail are among those who have been announced as judges for this year's NCTJ Awards for Excellence.

The awards, now in their fifth year, highlight the achievements of individuals with promising journalism careers ahead of them. The awards are open to students and trainees on NCTJ-accredited courses and entries can be sent to the NCTJ before the deadline on Friday 14 September 2012.

The 2012 judging panel will include:

  • Jonathan Barry, picture editor, Worcester Evening News
  • Brien Beharrell, editorial director, Newbury Weekly News
  • Orla Chennaoui, journalist, Sky Sports News
  • David Collins, news reporter, Daily Mirror
  • David Jones, chief foreign writer, Daily Mail
  • Dave King, head of news, Sussex Newspapers
  • Stephen Moyes, senior reporter, The Sun
  • Steve Phillips, group picture editor, South Wales Evening Post
  • David James Smith, journalist, The Sunday Times Magazine
  • Joy Yates, editor, Hartlepool Mail

The panel features four British Press Award winners, including scoop of the year, news reporter of the year and feature writer of the year.

The panel will review this year’s entries from a range of categories, including the new category for 2012: best student publication.

The winners will be presented at the NCTJ Journalism Skills Conference in Nottingham in November 2012.