Dunfermline Press reporter wins prestigious TS Murray award

A senior reporter at the Dunfermline Press has been awarded the prestigious T S Murray award by the Society of Editors Scotland for his performance in the NCTJ’s National Certificate Examination.

Matt Meade was presented with a certificate and a cheque for £200 by the Scottish Society of Editors chairman Julian Calvert at the Dunfermline Press last Wednesday.

The T S Murray award is an annual prize which recognises the best-performing NCE candidate employed by a Scottish newspaper.

Matt qualified as a senior reporter when he passed his NCE in March last year. His impressive performance beat out stiff competition from other Scottish newspaper trainees who sat the NCE in March, July and November.

He completed his preliminary training at the Scottish Centre for Journalism Studies.

BBC Scotland presenter Sally Magnusson is a past winner of the award. At the 2009 Journalism Skills Conference in Glasgow she revealed the award still hangs in pride of place on her wall.

Picture caption: Matt Meade (middle), a senior reporter at the Dunfermline Press, is presented with the TS Murray award by Society of Editors Scotland chairman Julian Calvert (right).