Celebrating excellence in journalism training

The future of journalism was celebrated today with the presentation of the 2010 NCTJ Awards for Excellence to the year's best student and trainee reporters and photographers.

The NCTJ Awards for Excellence recognise and reward the best journalism students completing NCTJ-accredited courses and journalists/photographers with less than two years experience on the job. With quality training and high standards at the heart of the NCTJ, these awards highlight the achievements of individuals with promising journalism careers ahead of them.

The awards were presented by Simon Bucks, associate editor at Sky News following a congratulatory speech from Joanne Butcher, NCTJ chief executive, at the Society of Editors Conference in Glasgow. In total there were thirteen awards presented – three performance awards for the best performing NCTJ student, NCE reporter and NCE photographer and ten category awards for the best student and trainee in the following areas: news journalism, sports journalism, top scoop, features of the year and images of the year.

The winning students and trainees demonstrated they have the skills to shine in this competitive industry and develop into successful journalists of the future. The judging panel was impressed by the quality of work from all the entries and had a challenging task choosing the category winners from the wealth of talent.

The 2010 NCTJ Awards for Excellence in Journalism winners are:



News Journalism

Student – Leanne Rinne

Trainee – Tara Russell


Sports Journalism

Student – Josh Burrows

Trainee – Jon Mattos


Top Scoop

Student - David Raven

Trainee – Katie Bowler


Features of the Year

Student – Jayne Garfitt

Trainee – Megan Jorsh


Images of the Year

Student – Antony Kitchener

Trainee – Amy Husband



NCTJ Student Journalist of the Year - Rachel Bull

NCTJ Photographer of the Year - Lucy Shaw

NCTJ Reporter of the Year - Catherine Dalton