Awards for Excellence shortlist announced as record-breaking trend continues

Judges from across the industry have considered more than 220 award entries to choose the shortlist for the 2015 NCTJ Awards for Excellence sponsored by NFL UK.

The number of award entries have continued to grow year-on-year, with 2015 having the highest number of entries since the awards were launched in 2008. They aim to highlight the achievements of individuals with promising journalism careers ahead of them.

The awards are open to students on NCTJ-accredited courses or NCTJ distance learning courses and trainees with less than two years' experience in journalism who have completed the Diploma in Journalism.

The list of student nominations includes representatives from a full range of NCTJ-accredited courses at universities, colleges and independent centers while trainee reporter nominations cover newspapers, magazines and broadcasters.

All shortlisted candidates will be invited to a gala dinner and awards ceremony at the Library of Birmingham on 26 November as guests of the NCTJ and NFL UK. The winners will be announced at the ceremony, hosted by BBC presenter Nick Owen as part of the NCTJ Journalism Skills Conference.

The shortlist can be viewed here.

The 2015 awards judges are:

  • Laura Adams, digital editorial director, Archant London
  • Brien Beharrell, vice-chairman, NCTJ
  • David Brine, features editor, Daily Echo
  • Clare Bouke, examiner, NCTJ
  • John Burton, former sports editor, Daily Express
  • Sue Campbell, director, NCTJ
  • Matt Clark, publisher, The Greenwich Visitor
  • Steve Dyson, media trainer and freelance journalist
  • Brian Flynn, investigative journalist, The Sun
  • Jamie Macaskill, deputy editor, Hull Daily Mail
  • Steve Panter, former MEN reporter and journalism lecturer
  • David Rowell, director, NCTJ
  • Alice Ryan, head of magazines and features, Cambridge Newspapers
  • Mark Thomas, former editor, Daily Post
  • Laurie Tucker, day editor and journalism training, Sky Sports News
  • Neil White, editor-in-chief, Derby Telegraph