Awards for Excellence 2017 shortlist


Category Student Trainee
News Journalism Garrick Alder, Kingston University
Isaan Khan, University of Central Lancashire
Aaron Renfree, University of Lincoln
Neil Athey, Lancashire Telegraph
Samar Maguire, Cambridge News and Newmarket News
Joe Middleton, Kent and Sussex Courier
Sports Journalism Jordan Campbell, Glasgow Caledonian University
Mats Fredrix, St Mary's University
Fiona Tomas, News Associates Manchester
Katie Falkingham, Sportsbeat
Nick Gullon, The Northern Echo
Matthew Smith, MailOnline
Top Scoop Keumars Afifi-Sabet, News Associates London
Jarrad Johnson, University of Lincoln
Anna Whittaker, University of Sheffield
Samantha Booth, Croydon Advertiser
Thomas Mackintosh, Croydon Advertiser
Caleb Spencer, Cambrian News
Features award Emma Calder, University of Lincoln
Jessica Davis, University of Sheffield
Rowan Nevin, University of Portsmouth
Will Hayward, Media Wales
Carly Minsky, Pageant Media
Aniesa Mirreh, South West News Service
Multimedia story/campaign of the year Jason Lewis, Bournemouth University
Faith Ridler, University of Sheffield
Roshan Roberts-Crooks, Bournemouth University
Sian Elvin, Kent and Sussex Courier
Bethany Lodge, The Gazette
Best student project Bournemouth University - The Forgotten Survivors
University of Central Lancashire - Dine magazine
University of Kent - Echoes of Horror


  Apprentice of the year shortlist

  • Daniel Boswell, Sky Sports News
  • Safeeyah Kazi, Evening Standard and Independent
  • Rachel Matthews, Telegraph Group
  • Kerry Parvin, BBC Radio Cumbria
  • Tristan Shale-Hester, Blackball Media

Student of the year shortlist

  • Mojo Abidi, University of Sheffield
  • Thomas George, News Associates Manchester
  • Christopher McKeon, Press Association Training London
  • Anna Schaverien, News Associates London
  • Timothy Stickings, University of Sheffield
  • Jasmine Watkiss, Press Association Training Newcastle

Trainee of the year shortlist

  • Laura Drysdale, Wakefield Express
  • Hannah Somerville, Oxford Mail
  • Abigail Weaving, Saffron Walden Reporter

Innovation of the year award shortlist

  • Bournemouth University
  • UCFB Wembley
  • University of Gloucestershire

Chairman's award

The winner of the chairman's award, which celebrates a nominated individual's outstanding contribution to high standards of journalism training, will be announced at the Awards for Excellence ceremony and gala dinner.